travel

From England, to the sea, to France.

Eurostar is amazing.

My day was special from early on in the morning, when I knew I was leaving on a train from St. Pancras Station. If you have not heard me go on about it, St. Pancras is my favorite building in London, a Gothic Victorian marvel of a station.

entry2-1

And then, I realized I was going to get to leave from a train under the glass dome of King’s Cross.

entry2-2.jpg

It was an absolutely surreal experience; King’s Cross-St. Pancras is one of my favorite stations in London, one I got to know well off the Victoria line last year, and one where I simply sat and savored over winter holidays to destress from the semester. It’s a gorgeous station, and it made my trip worthwhile only to have left from it.

Of course, this was only increased when I realized I was riding a train under the English Channel, through the so-called Chunnel. And then I emerged from England, to the sea, to France.

The French countryside – or what I could see from the train – is gorgeous. It is long, gorgeous stretches of green, farmland and fields, dotted with small towns, hewn villages clustered around an ancient church. The spires of those churches rise up over the countryside like dark hands, wrought of stone that looks medieval from the distance, and are surrounded by light houses like something from years past, like a lost world still living.

entry2-5.jpg

And then the train pulls alongside Paris, and then it’s the height of that gorgeous French architecture, the fair-framed buildings reaching upwards, the ornate twists of iron grates, the curves within the blocks.

entry2-7.jpg

It let us off at Gare du Nord, a station in the midst of Paris, surrounded by that gorgeous image of Paris that haunts every romantic’s daydream.

entry2-3.jpg

I had to jump on two Metro trains from the train station in order to get to my flat, between Republique and the Marais, off the Arts des Metiers stop, which was a deep frustration carrying irrationally heavy luggage. And I’ve run into trouble with this Airbnb – not only is the flat not entirely equipped, but the host missed our meeting time and I had to wait outside for half an hour, which meant I did not have much time to properly explore my area after.

entry2-6.jpg

On the other hand, I have ten days in Paris, and I’m going to make the most of it.

Standard

Leave a Reply

