travel

Today, I walked the city of Paris.

Throughout my research, I read again and again, “Paris is a walking city.” This seemed to bode well for me, as I’m notorious for walking everywhere when I’m in a city where I can (I walked from Bethnal Green to Regent’s Park last winter when the tube was on strike), and I knew I would embrace it straight off.

However, I had no idea just how much of a walking city Paris truly is. For a walker, it is ideal – everything somehow is so close together, so built practically on top of each other, that it is impossible to walk a hundred meters before finding something else breathtaking.

I think it has to do with the way the city was built. Through its history, Paris has always been an enclosed city, piled high of itself, layered in a way that is almost Trojan. It is tall compact unlike anywhere I have seen before. Buildings stretch for storeys, and the rare gaps are filled with greenery; a medieval tower sits next to a seventeenth century shop next to an office block. Everything connects to each other, historically and culturally, and that connection means everything is tight together.

Today, I walked the city. I walked from my flat in Republique to the Marais, to Île de la Cité and Notre Dame, to the Louvre, along the Champs-Élysées, to the Arc de Triomphe.

entry3-1.jpg

entry3-2.jpg

entry3-9.jpg

entry3-7.jpg

entry3-8.jpg

entry3-3

entry3-4.jpg

entry3-5.jpg

entry3-6.jpg

entry2-12.jpg

entry3-10.jpg

entry3-15.jpg

entry3-13.jpg

entry3-14.jpg

Fitbit says it is 23,000 steps, but I’m pretty sure it was more.

And it left me with a hell of a sunburn. Yow.

Standard

Leave a Reply

